Flag of Alaska

Alaska adopted the flag for official state use in 1959. The blue field represents the sky, the sea, and mountain lakes, as well as Alaska's wildflowers. Emblazoned on the flag are eight gold stars: seven in the constellation Ursa Major, or the Big Dipper. The eighth being the North Star, representing the northern most state

Alaska was the 49th state to join the union.
It was settled in 1784 and entered the union on Jan. 3, 1959.
The state capitol is in Juneau.

Their nickname is: The Last Frontier
Their motto is: North To The Future
Origin of state's name: Based on an Aleut word "alaxsxaq" literally meaning "object toward which the action of the sea is directed" or more simply "the mainland."

Below is a list of some of the ciites we have visisted during our trip(s) to Alaska.

Future Trip Future Trip Future Trip Future Trip Future Trip Future Trip Future Trip

Hope you enjoyed hearing about our trip(s) through AK.
Back to Our Home Page
Page last updated on 3/5/02.