New Mexico Flag

The yellow field and red symbol colors are the colors of Spain. First brought to New Mexico by Spanish explorers in 1540. On New Mexico's flag we see a red sun with rays streching out from it. There are four groups of rays with four rays in each group. This is an ancient sun symbol of a Native American people called the Zia. The Zia believed that the giver of all good gave them gifts in groups of four. These gifts are: The four directions - north, east, south and west. The four seasons - spring, summer, fall and winter. The day - sunrise, noon, evening and night. Life itself - childhood, youth, middle years and old age. All of these are bound by a circle of life and love, without a beginning or end.

New Mexico Page

New Mexico was the 47th state to join the union.
It was settled in 1610 and entered the union on Jan. 6, 1912.
The state capitol is in Santa Fe.

Their nickname is: The Land of Enchantment
Their motto is: It grows as it goes
Origin of state's name: Named by the Spanish for lands north of the Rio Grande River

Below is a list of some of the ciites we have visisted during our trip(s) to New Mexico

4 Corners Alamogordo Albuquerque Carrizozo Carlsbad Roswell Santa Fe

Back to Our Home Page
Page last updated August 2014.